ACCOUNTABLE COFFEE : DAY 17 : Maggie Blanke

ACCOUNTABLE COFFEE : DAY 17 : Maggie Blanke

Maggie Blanke
Neighbor, Mother, Photographer, Owner/Operator of Adventures in Woo

I like everything about art. I like the fact that it allows you to see things from more than 1 perspective. I like looking at a lot of different artists. It’s interesting to see how many similar things you can notice and how many different things you can notice.

I started taking photos in probably 1969 or 1970. I got an old Nikkormat and I also liked the old black and white stuff, like Weston and Margaret Bourke White. I just love those guys. I would just pour through the old Time Life stuff. I took about 4 or 5 semesters of classes at St. Louis. The first thing my professor did was make us, in the first 2 semesters, only take abstract pictures. So, we were training our eyes to see just 1 tiny little thing. I loved that whole idea. That started me off to see things differently. I don’t usually see the whole thing, I just see a tiny little square of it. That was my whole fascination with photography, was trying to see something beautiful in a big chunk of concrete that would otherwise go unnoticed.

I’m really glad that we voted art back into our public schools. I think children should be able to make art and explore it when they are younger, because then it is not so out of reach when they are older.

Leave a Reply

